were used as an instrument of Soviet policy to sabotage Western European efforts at economic recovery and political co-operation. Under these circumstances, the countries of the Atlantic Community felt themselves in grave peril of Soviet aggression and Communist subversion and they therefore took special collective measures under the United Nations Charter to maintain peace. The Prime Minister of Canada, the Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent, was one of the first to foresee this development. In 1947, when Secretary of State for External Affairs, he said before the United Nations General Assembly that nations might be forced to seek greater safety "in an association of democratic, peace-loving states willing to accept more specific international obligations in return for a greater measure of national security"

The first step in this direction was taken in the spring of 1948 when Belgium, France, Luxembourg, The Netherlands and the United Kingdom signed the Brussels Treaty establishing Western Union. On Apr. 4, 1949, as a result of negotiations between these countries, Canada and the United States, the North Atlantic Treaty was signed at Washington. This Treaty was accepted by all major groups of opinion in Canada and was passed without a single dissenting vote in Parliament.

The original signatories of the Treaty were Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States. In September 1951 it was agreed that Greece and Turkey should be invited to accede to the Treaty and they were admitted in February 1952. In May 1952, on the same day the European Defence Community Treaty was signed at Paris by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands and Western Germany, a Protocol to the North Atlantic Treaty was signed under which all NATO countries extended to the members of the EDC the guarantees of the North Atlantic Treaty in return for reciprocal obligations to be undertaken by all members of the EDC. As of May 31, 1954, this Protocol has been ratified by the United States, Turkey, Portugal, Greece and The Netherlands. The Canadian Parliament approved it in June 1952 but ratification was postponed while awaiting the action of other governments, more immediately concerned, regarding it.

The North Atlantic Treaty and the Organization.—The terms of the Treaty and the organization of the Council and subordinate committees are dealt with in the 1954 Canada Year Book, pp. 113-115.

Annual Review.\*—The North Atlantic Council continued in permanent session at Paris under the chairmanship of the Secretary-General, Lord Ismay. In 1953, Mr. A. D. P. Heeney was succeeded by Mr. L. D. Wilgress as Permanent Representative of Canada to the Council. The Council met in Ministerial Session in September 1953 and April 1954 under the Chairmanship of M. Bidault, French Foreign Minister.

At the September meeting the Council, after reviewing the defence program of the member countries, reached agreement on the level of NATO forces to be achieved and maintained over the next three years; the goals for the end of 1954 were firm commitments while those for 1955 and 1956 were provisional and for planning purposes. The broad lines of future NATO defence planning to meet the threat of aggression over an extended period were agreed upon. The Ministers also had a full exchange of views on the international situation both in formal and in informal discussions. They concluded, first, that there was no real evidence that

<sup>\*</sup> June 1, 1953, to May 31, 1954.